Baghead Writes A Love Song

Here’s a little song that I wrote for my wife. Excuse the quality; it’s strictly low-fi – I recorded this with two push button cassette players to bounce down tracks.

[https://soundcloud.com/baghead-kelly/song-for-cassandra-demo]

Verse 1

More than a thousand miles away,
I send my love to my baby today.
I guess I’m just a sentimental fool,
A lovelorn poet in a world so cruel.

Verse 2

I want to run my fingers gently through your hair,
But every time Cass baby your not there.
I’m waiting for the day when you walk through my door,
And two becomes one just like it was before.

Verse 3

Eloquence escapes me at about verse three,
Rhyming couplets and poetry.
One baby two baby three wait and see,
All your babies sitting on this daddies knee.

Verse 4

I guess I’m tired of waiting this waiting game,
Whats a candle without its girlie flame.
Wait for me Cass because I’m true blue,
I’m coming back baby just to marry you.

Outro

I love you,
I need you, need you, need you,
And it won’t be long before we’re back together.

4 Responses to “Baghead Writes A Love Song”

  1. Adam McKay-Allen Jarvis Says:

    I couldn’t get your link to work, but the lyrics are definitely from the heart.

    I find it hard to write pure love songs; for some reason, break ups make better material for my songwriting. Who knows, despite being happily married, maybe deep down I can’t let go of the “love pessimist”…. 🙂

    • Sorry about that I don’t really know what I’m doing – I just press buttons and things until it works but I think I fixed it.

      Yes it was definately from the heart, its coming up to 15 years since we were married in May.

  2. Good love song! My favorite topic because everyone is touched by it…be it the light or dark side of love. I loved the harmonica in there too! Is that you playing it?

Leave a Reply

