Guitar Pro 6 Review

Guitar Pro has been around for quite a while but if you’re a guitarist and you don’t use it I’d have to ask; why not? It is the single most effective guitar learning tool that I’ve come across. Guitar Pro helps to compose, and transcribe music too although it also uses traditional notation. The files are quite small so they don’t take up much room on your computer and in general there’s not too many negatives to speak of.

Arobas Music who developed the program was founded in 1997 and are located in the North of France. The program is currently selling for $60 with an optional $30 upgrade. (I paid about $40 a couple of years ago). Personally I would easily shell out even that hurtful amount and I’m a well-known tight wad. (I paid $30 per half an hour to a piano tutor once and I only lasted 4 weeks because of the pain on my wallet).

www.guitarpro.com/

There are literally tens of thousands of tunes on the internet available for free. They vary in quality as most have been written by enthusiasts, however the standard is generally very high. If you already have the program and you’re looking for another 21,925 more songs then drop us a line and I’ll send you the rar file.

The Pros

  • It’s relatively easy to learn as there is plenty of literature and Youtube videos on the subject.
  • You can hear what you write/compose.
  • You can learn at your own pace. It’s always there when you feel like picking up the baton.
  • The songs are free.
  • You can print your music for hard copies and the standard is very good. I prefer it to ‘Finale’. (last time I bought a sheet music book I paid $50 although we get ripped off here in Australia)
  • Its become so popular that it is fast becoming the standard.
  • It’s a great way to converse with other musicians.
  • You can export your arrangements as MIDI and import them into other programs i.e. Cubase.

The Cons

  • It costs $60 bucks
  • It’s RSE (Realistic Sound Engine) sounds like those early Casio keyboards.

If you’re a music enthusiast then do yourself a favour and check out Guitar Pro.

9 Responses to “Guitar Pro 6 Review”

  1. Good idea. I need to do this. I’m still using a free online tab generator. Thanks for the tip.

  2. @Richard McCargar actually a little trick that I do use that might be usefull to you; is that If I see a photograph/diagram that I like which I can’t procure by normal means – then I use the print screen key on my keyboard and then paste it into a dedicated powerpoint presentation. Once in there I can crop it down to the target photograph and save as a jpeg or whatever. I beleive that you can also use the Paint program but it is a PC work around only.

Leave a Reply

